[Interview] Taeyeon @ To. X naver interview

English translation by Taengirenes

Original article: https://m.post.naver.com/viewer/postView.naver?volumeNo=36931776&memberNo=41350603

Q. If you were to define this album [To. X] with one word?
Actually, while preparing for this album, the theme I thought of was the ’emotions of a character who was hurt’. Everyone has experienced getting hurt by something right? I think it’s an album that expresses the many emotions I felt at that time. So I’d like to define this album as ‘the past’.

Q. I heard that your ideas were reflected in this album a lot, what was the most enjoyable and difficult process while preparing for it?
Firstly, the most enjoyable part was being able to think a lot in the process of making the album’s story. Since the album overall has a big theme, I paid a lot of attention to the lyrics, but I think I enjoyed the process of making the specific situations for each song with the lyrics. However, what was difficult was working on it right after the concert tour, so physically it was quite difficult. Still I was happy to be able to capture myself in the good songs.

Q. How did you feel after listening to the title song ‘To. X’ for the first time?
Ah, it’s comfortable.. as soon as I first heard it I just felt it was comfortable. I hope everyone also feels comfortable listening to it.

Q. What is the title song To. X’s appreciation point?
What the story the narrator was trying to tell through the lyrics. I think it would be good to enjoy it from the
narrator’s point of view. ‘why did the narrator’s feelings change so much. I think it would be more relatable to think about ‘why make such a thought and choice’ while listening to it.

Q. Please give a tip on how to best enjoy the b- sides other than the title song!
I want you to think about the ‘narcissist’. Whether you become the narcissist or the other person, it’s an album that expresses feelings in various situations. Because in the end, it is the confident and precarious appearance of ‘me’, I recommend listening to it while thinking of ‘me’.

Bình luận về bài viết này